PDA

View Full Version : Ridge board question

jen_in_southtexas
12-27-2008, 05:06 PM
I was wondering if it is possible to tie two boards together to form one board for my ridgeboard with those metal splice plates that they sell for splicing two pieces of wood?

I need a ridgeboard at least 18 to 20ft long. They sell them at the hardware store in that length but it would be a pain in the butt for me. I would have to rent a 20ft trailer at the rental place because if i tried to transport that in my truck the board would bow quiet a bit. That happened with some of my 16ft floor joists. It is easier for me to transport say 10-12ft boards.

Im not an expert at this. If it helps any, my rise will be between 18 and 20 inches. I just want to make sure that a roof will or will not hold like this. I would like to start on my roof next week.

thanks,
-jen

otterbob
12-27-2008, 05:27 PM
Jen,

You said you have a truck.
There are two other ways you can transport that length on your truck.
A} use two somethings { T posts, 2x4's ect. } lashed to front and back bumper so that they extend past the passenger side a foot or so then lash the board {on edge} to the side of the truck so that the bumpers now support the weight .
B} slide it under the truck so that it sticks out the front and back and lash to front and back bumpers { this method is dangerous ! , but has saved my butt at times. }

Otter Bob

flatwater
12-27-2008, 06:17 PM
Most full size trucks are at least 18 feet long so 20 feet isn't to much of a problem . But to answer your question , yes you can put them together but I would recommend that you overlap screw and glue them. then depending on the span you should have a support post in the middle. Just those metal tie plates won't work

flatwater
12-27-2008, 06:19 PM
As a side note I tend to overbuild things but with that said, I have never had a roof fall me either. My motto is better safe then sorry

bee_pipes
12-27-2008, 07:17 PM