PDA

View Full Version : new lever action

kenfagan
03-03-2009, 09:16 PM
i am fairly new to lever action rifles, this will be the first lever action i own, i am going to get a marlin (or possibly glenfield if i get a good deal), in either 30-30 or 35 rem, i will be using it mostly for deer, but possibly for black bear, i was leaning toword the 30-30, bacause of the current state of things as far as guns are concerned, the 30-30 being more commercially availiable in both factory cartridges and component brass.
ken

Watonga_Jim
03-04-2009, 12:19 AM
Marlin has produced so many 30-30 lever guns, that finding a good deal on one shouldn't be hard. The 35 Remington offers a little more knockdown power but ammo costs and availability do favor the 30-30. I currently have a Marlin 30-30 that was purchased in the 60's and it still looks and works like new.

kawalekm
03-04-2009, 12:32 AM
Hi Ken
Here's the next lever gun that I want to get.
http://www.notpurfect.com/main/puma.html
If you want, you can shoot .45Colt cowboy loads for light target practice, or load up .454 Casull rounds that generate up to 2800 foot pounds of energy! Rabbits to buffalo with one gun!
Michael

Watonga_Jim
03-04-2009, 12:54 AM
Michael

That is a good looking gun and one I wouldn't mind having. *I bet it comes with a pretty good price tag and I'm still saving pennies after I sprung for a Marlin lever action in 38/357 recently.

Jim

seafarer
03-04-2009, 01:25 AM
Another important thing is that the 30/30 or 35 remington for that matter will shoot lead bullets. Wheel weights are usually free for the asking or cheap if not. Lee Engineering has bullet molds for the different .30 cal rounds. They even have two for the 7.62X39 for all you AK or SKS fans.

Those who do not pour their own bullets might want to get into it soon.
A good reason to use the .45ACP round is that the lead bullets will approximate the terminal ballistics of the hardball round.

DM
03-04-2009, 01:45 PM