PDA

View Full Version : Kerosene heater questions

SamS
01-23-2010, 07:41 PM
Hi I'm a noob here and to kerosene heat. We got one last year when western KY got hit with a hell of an ice storm. We got it after 2 weeks of looking and I followed the instructions to fill it and let it set for an hour before lighting it up which I then did to burn off any coatings from manufacturing and storage. I brought it inside and went to work. Our power came on that day so I drained it and put it into the shed. This year the gas co. unintentionally cut our gas line and killed the service to our home so I got it out, filled it and lit it up. I used K1 clear. Shortly after lighting it we began to smell kero fumes and since it really wasn't that cold, about 25, I turned it off.

My questions are,

1. I let it set about 30 mins the second time prior to lighting it up. Should I have let it set longer?

2. How much should I crack a window open to vent out CO and fumes?

3. I'm a So. Fla boy that ended up in KY so I'm new to kerosene heaters. Is there something I should have or should not have done?

Thanks

SamS

cubcadet
01-23-2010, 09:27 PM