PDA

View Full Version : Bullet casting question (Blackpowder)

EJC62
02-20-2010, 09:16 PM
I have seen lots of posts on taking pure lead and making it harder for casting cartridge bullets, but is there any way to take less than pure lead (WW or other) and refining it back to pure for blackpowder?

I'd like to be able to buy scrap lead and if it is too hard purify it.

I'm sure there is some super expensive refining technique, what I'm looking for is something on home-scale.

Eric

gunsmoke
02-20-2010, 11:52 PM
I've been cooking lead since 1967 (at the age of 10). I'm sure there is a way to seperate the metals but if so its really beyond anything you want to get involved with I'm sure.

If you think you NEED "pure" PB its going to be chaeper and easier to buy it.

The only two alloys I've ever cast are WW and LINOTYPE, and quit linotype years ago when I found out how to heat treat wheelweights.

Just IMHO you'll do okay with WW in the MLs. Its what I've used and never had a problem with them not obturating (which is the real reason that you're told to use "pure" Pb in MLs). WW in my experience are close to a Brinell of 8 which is not hard at all you can easily boost them way up with either cold-water quenching or oven heat treating and use gas checks if you really want to hot rod and penetrate.

In the past 40 years my WW bullets have done everything I have ever asked of them.

FWIW I knew an old guy who had a .40 cal long rifle he built himself, he took many deer with patched linotype round balls in front of 90gr of FFFg.

EJC62
02-21-2010, 06:09 AM
Thanks for the info, I guess my first step is to get a brinnel hardness tester (looking at the Lee) and go from there. If wheel weights are around eight and pure lead is around six then I'm sure any extra hardness is minor and any reduced accuracy is far below my shooting capacity (LOL).