PDA

View Full Version : Lessons learnt reworking 1950's yugoslavian 8mm Ma

Westcliffe01
07-04-2011, 04:04 AM
So this weekend I finally got my reloading bench complete and the press set up.

I got into a bind with Brownells since I ordered 1lb of smokeless powder together with the press "kit" and all the dies. That 1lb of powder held my entire order up for a week because of a BS hazmat issue that prevents Brownells from shipping more than 99lb of powder per day. So remember, if someone in front of you orders a bunch of powder - it could be weeks before you see yours... It was pretty frustrating and the sales staff refused to cancel the order for the powder and didn't offer to ship the other items either. I finally said I was going to call my credit card company to reverse the charges and that that point they started listening....

Anyway, I'm new to reloading so the learning curve has been steep. Lots of checking and rechecking to be sure I am safe... Thank god I went with the Hornady Lock n Load system. It took a while to get each of the dies dialed in, but now I am all set. Twist the die about 30 degrees to get it to release from the press (breech locking system, like an AR bolt). It comes out and your "zero" is preserved for the next time. I can see how one would have to set up a conventional threaded press every time you change a die. I got the following dies: 8x57 full length size and deprime, 8x57 neck resize and 8x57 bullet seater / crimp. In addition, I got the exact same set of 3 dies in 7.62x39, as well as a collet style bullet puller with an 8mm collet.

If you were counting that was 7 different tools. The press comes with 3 "lock n load" bushings and I bought 6 more, leaving 2 spare for the moment.