BHM's Homesteading & Self-Reliance Forum

Posting requires Registration and the use of Cookies-enabled browser

Old 03-03-2010, 05:14 PM

Default homeade brass polisher

Hey I'm just starting out and bought almost 800 once fired .45acp brass for $5.00 a 100 from the local gun range. It's an outdoor range and the stuff is a little dirty to mud covered. Don't want to spend $$$ on a tumbler if I don't have to right away. I was wondering if any of you reloading vets have come up with a way to clean brass without using a tumbler?

Thanks

Sam
Old 03-03-2010, 09:18 PM
Master Pontificator

I think I would just dump them in a pan of dish soap and water, let them soak a bit, then scrub and wipe off.
Let dry really good, the check out the condition?

I don't use a polisher unless the brass is very tarnished and I want to check for cracks and pin holes.

Last edited by hunter63; 03-03-2010 at 09:19 PM. Reason: splin'
Old 03-04-2010, 12:54 PM
Master Pontificator

Here's a recipe that I like. For each gallon of hot water add about 1/2 cup of vinegar, a tablespoon of table salt, and enough dish washing detergent to make suds. The salt makes the brass come out shinier than if omitted. Dump in your brass and let soak for 30 to 60 minutes. Stir the brass occasionally. You can gauge the results incrementally and let the brass soak for longer/shorter periods of time based on what level of cleanliness you need.

After the wash/soak is finished, dump out the dirty water and rinse repeatedly 5-6 times till the brass is completely clean. Make sure that you stir your brass to drain all trapped water, and make sure all the brass fills up inside with rinse water (no air pockets). After your final drain, leave the brass laying in the sun and it will be dry and ready for sizing in about an hour. You can clean chrome plated brass this way too, but cut down the soak times because the vinegar will start to strip off the chrom.

Good luck,
Michael
Old 03-05-2010, 12:03 AM