Write For BHM
 Privacy Policy

Retired Features
 Country Moments
 Feedback
 Links
 Radio Show

BHM's Homesteading & Self-Reliance Forum
Posting requires Registration and the use of Cookies-enabled browser.

Who's In The Chat Room

Go Back   BHM Forum > Homesteading > Food > Canning/Preserving

Old 07-04-2010, 02:56 PM
Master Pontificator

Default My grape jelly didn't set at ALL.

I am new to canning so forgive me if this is a silly question. What did I do wrong with my grape jelly? It turned out not just runny, but completely liquid.

I tried making it from bottled juice from the store (it was real organic grape juice, not grape punch or anything like that.) I used Certo brand pectin crystals. The recipe in the box said to use 7 cups of sugar to 5 cups juice, I used 6 cups because that's what my recipe book (which is the Canadian equivalent of the Ball book) said for grape jelly. I didn't think the brand of pectin mattered so much, as long as I was following a recipe.

I did made sure to boil it hard for 1 minute too. But it's not even thick enough to use as syrup on pancakes. What should I do now?

Old 07-04-2010, 03:46 PM
Grand Master Pontificator

I'll let others weight in on the possible causes of the failure to jell. Especially, since I've had my fair share of syrup, instead of jelly, too.

As to your syrup, since it's thin, you can use it to flavor beverages or even plain water. What is you have is a grape flavored version of simple syrup. If you want it thicker, put into a crock pot and leave the lid adjar to evaporate more of the moisture. Or, simply leave in the jars, and gently simmer at the time of use to condense it further.