BHM's Homesteading & Self-Reliance Forum

Posting requires Registration and the use of Cookies-enabled browser

Go Back   BHM Forum > Forum > Hellos & Happy Birthdays

Hellos & Happy Birthdays New members, please use this board to introduce yourselves. Been gone awhile? Let your friends here know you're back! Is it somone's birthday? Wish 'em a happy one!

Old 08-07-2011, 10:37 AM

Default hi from Canada!

I just joined and can't wait to get enough posts to look at the rest of the forums. I am from New Brunswick Canada. I work as a curator at a living history village so I really know alot about historic homesteading, it has stood me up well when my washer died last Christmas can't wait to meet people! I may not be on here alot as I work full time and run two teen boys everywhere (as well as cook for them) but I will be around.
Old 08-07-2011, 07:02 PM

You must be talking about King's Landing- which for those who don't know is a wonderful play to visit and see how things were done in the distant past.

Freya_Dawn
Old 08-07-2011, 07:17 PM

thank you Freya, I live 10 minutes from there, I have worked at Kings Landing for 20 years, 13 years in the historic homes, the last few years as a curator. i take it you have visited? we try to do things the right way
Old 08-07-2011, 07:36 PM

It would have been about 1974 and I was around 10 or 11, and, I believe King's Landing had just recently opened.

We ate at the King's Head Inn; It was the first time I tried blue cheese which I promptly spit out into a napkin. If I remember correctly, the food was cooked by the same methods used in the era.

It was a really neat place to visit, and I'll be going back when I come home.

Freya_Dawn
Old 08-08-2011, 12:05 AM