Write For BHM
 Privacy Policy

Retired Features
 Country Moments
 Feedback
 Links
 Radio Show

BHM's Homesteading & Self-Reliance Forum
Posting requires Registration and the use of Cookies-enabled browser.

Who's In The Chat Room

Go Back   BHM Forum > Homesteading > Homesteading

Homesteading Talk or ask questions about homesteading in general, your homestead, or any other related topic.

Old 09-15-2011, 09:17 PM
Grand Master Pontificator

Default Need someone familiar with making sorghum syrup

So I bought a sorghum mill and batch pan a couple years ago. This year I have a sorghum patch. I need to correspond with someone that is familiar with making old time sorghum syrup. Hope someone out there is learned enough to answer my questions.

My grandpa said my great grandfather had a mill years and years ago and all I know is what I remember my grandpa telliing me.

Old 09-15-2011, 10:11 PM

I've been growing it for 5 years or so. Still a lot I don't know, but I can probably help out a little. What questions do you have?
Old 09-16-2011, 09:36 PM

At what stage should the seeds be at when one presses the cane?

Should I boil the syrup, or just let it simmer? I know there's got to be a temp or something that's the magic temp when one should quit cooking and bottle. What is it, or do you test it like jelly?

Just stick it in a jar and cap and seal??

I'd really like to see what a skimmer looks like. From pictures on youtube it appears there's little holes in the skimmer. What size and how far apart should I make the holes?

Does it hurt if the sorghum freezes??

Can I cut one day and press and cook the next?

Can I press one day and cook the next?

We had a lite frost but the sorghum looks like it survived. Can it be cut and pressed too green or too ripe????

I got the batch pan that came with the outfit but it ain't been used in like fifty years. What kind of acid or what should be used to clean the pan out??