BHM's Homesteading & Self-Reliance Forum

Posting requires Registration and the use of Cookies-enabled browser

Go Back   BHM Forum > Homesteading > Energy > Hydro/Wind/Wood/Geothermal

Hydro/Wind/Wood/Geothermal And other types of alternative energy

Old 01-10-2013, 07:19 PM

Default permanent magnet alternator for wind?

I was wondering if anyone has tried that? I'm kinda' new to the wind/ solar energy subject, and so far my research seems to conclude that automotive alternators just aren't efficient enough for the job. Old auto/ tractor generators don't produce at low RPM and the DC motors that work best are getting hard to find and pricey...

My old Harley ('71 FLH) has a 35A permanent magnet 3 phase alternator, reliable and simple, charges good at idle. I see used ones at swap-meets and on e-bay for reasonable prices (from where ppl have upgraded to higher powered setups, new "kits" can be a bit pricey) and I'm a Machinist by trade so I can make my own mounting plates shafts etc.. and I'm sure it would require a 1:2 or more pulley to step up the RPMs a little.

I know some other older motorcycles used permanent magnet alternators but I haven't found which ones yet. (My '75 Honda 750K doesn't..)

So, any thoughts on the subject??
Old 06-18-2013, 12:22 PM

I have been playing around with wind power for about 6 years now and I have wasted a lot of money on many different things so I'll share what has worked for me. The small Ametek type motors on ebay do make good power at low rpm but are very pricey, when you consider the amps produced compared to price you would be far better off spending the money on solar panels.
The permanent magnet alternators on ebay are a total waste, they are hard to turn so a large set of blades are required however the larger the rotor the slower the RPM. These alternators produce very very little power for the price.