BHM's Homesteading & Self-Reliance Forum

Posting requires Registration and the use of Cookies-enabled browser


Go Back   BHM Forum > Self-Reliance & Preparedness > Communications/Computers/Software

Communications/Computers/Software Ask questions and offer help on anything to do with electronic communication, computing, or related areas.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2015, 07:47 PM
connie189 Female connie189 is offline
Grand Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,223
Default Dropped from Channels

Hi All,

Hubby has a dilemma...he is missing viewing his favorite channels which our rabbit ears are not pulling in (for the past several days).

It started with some snowy and windy weather last week. (Sometimes that temporarily messes up the signals). Since that only lasted 2 days with two channels now it's like spring outside, a couple more channels dropped.

Hubby even called the manufacturer's customer service, and he did (below, his words

"...TV and converter dropped 5 channels we usually get; we are unable to adjust the antenna to regain the missing channels.

I did several rescans without success; I also did a factory reset which did nothing."

The antenna is about two years old, if that. A more expensive model.

If anyone can help---he's seriously depressed about missing 60 minutes and keeps sighing...

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2015, 07:57 PM
Bearfootfarm's Avatar
Bearfootfarm Male Bearfootfarm is offline
Grand Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Eastern North Carolina
Posts: 1,892
Default

You may have to put up an outside antenna

We have crappy reception here too, due to all the 100 year old trees around the house

Anything taller than the antenna will block the signal, and going through walls doesn't help either
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2015, 10:43 PM
backlash's Avatar
backlash Male backlash is offline
Grand Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Dry side of Washington
Posts: 1,926
Default

I would buy another cheap inside antenna and if that didn't work take it back and get an outside antenna.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2015, 11:32 PM
connie189 Female connie189 is offline
Grand Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,223
Default

We live in a condo (109 y/o building) and not sure where we could put an outside antenna...(roof, but our association wouldn't allow it).

Cable is waaaay too expensive here. Ditto for satellite.

Funny thing, the gizmo was working right before the storm...weird!

Sounds like all we can do is buy another inside one and see how that gets reception?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2015, 11:47 AM
doc doc is offline
Grand Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: central WI--finally!
Posts: 1,473
Default

Don't know why you suddenly dropped some channels, but Chicago in general has a lot of trouble with digital broadcasts because the tall, glass buildings reflect the signals and serve as "multiple transmission antennae." The multiple signals can interfere with each other and cancel themselves out. My office is at 79th & Central and we only get about 1/3rd of the channels there.

Did you recently move furniture in the apartment? Sometimes the silliest little change in things can alter the reception from an indoor antenna.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2015, 06:09 PM
connie189 Female connie189 is offline
Grand Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,223
Default

Nothing new that I can think off...did move a nick knack from next to it to the other side of our bookcase, (and it has feathers) but that's about it.

It just changed with the weather when we had that two days of storm/winds; could hardly get a channel for the first day and then some but missing two and then more a few days later. Weird!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2015, 09:57 PM
Bearfootfarm's Avatar
Bearfootfarm Male Bearfootfarm is offline
Grand Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Eastern North Carolina
Posts: 1,892
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by connie189 View Post
Nothing new that I can think off...did move a nick knack from next to it to the other side of our bookcase, (and it has feathers) but that's about it.

It just changed with the weather when we had that two days of storm/winds; could hardly get a channel for the first day and then some but missing two and then more a few days later. Weird!
Some of those antennas have a powered "booster"
If you had a power surge, it may have been damaged

With ours, sometimes just moving it or rotating it a few inches can make a big difference
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-21-2015, 10:04 PM
trailtrecker trailtrecker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 24
Default

Have you tried plugging in your tv and converter to a different outlet? Maybe on a different circuit?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2015, 05:06 PM
offtheradar Male offtheradar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 445
Default

Check with "TV fool" on the internet. It will tell you the stations that you can get with different arrangements. One note: if the station is broadcasting on the low VHF (7-13) you will need a special antenna. I like the bow tie type antenna.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2015, 12:48 AM
connie189 Female connie189 is offline
Grand Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,223
Default

I don't think we've seen the bow-type one at Radio Shack or Target when we bought this one (rabbit ears).

It seems like we go through them every 3 years or less.

What I don't get is that if it's not working, why are we getting ANY channels?

Hubby just said he heard of TVfool but has to check it out. He spent today working with AT&T trying to get our computer to stop dropping us off the internet. (Another project, LOL).

We live in an old building and are seriously electrical-socket challenged, but he's going to move it near the computer (got lots of wires under our desk) and plug it in there to see if that might help.

Thanks, all!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-23-2015, 10:45 AM
offtheradar Male offtheradar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 445
Default

Check amazon for antennas. Channel Master has a good slection
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-24-2015, 12:22 PM
ScrubbieLady ScrubbieLady is offline
Grand Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: North Mississippi
Posts: 1,198
Default

When we used a digital converter box, we had to run channel scan to pick up new channels. When we have trouble with a channel it prompts us to run a new channel scan. You set it to look for new channels or you can start over from scratch.

We do this with both rabbit ears(in our outdoor kitchen) and with the digital antenna on the house.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-25-2015, 06:20 PM
connie189 Female connie189 is offline
Grand Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,223
Default

Thanks, everyone!

Hubby has tried EVERYTHING; has come to the conclusion something is wrong with the antenna, so wants to order a new one from Home Depot of all places (claims it has great reviews - $35).

We just need to order online and pick up at the store, if we want.

Been snowing all day, but no wind...the ears here seem to be the same (not all channels but not getting worse).
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-26-2015, 08:22 AM
12vman's Avatar
12vman Male 12vman is offline
Grand Master Pontificator
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Tuscarawas County, Ohio
Posts: 2,016
Default

Consider an amplified RV antenna. That's what I use here. It's omnidirectional (no need for a rotor) and if you have an attic or just a crawl space, it could be laid in an area less than 8" high..

Mine looks like a flying saucer, a lot like this one..

http://www.ebay.com/itm/RV-CAMPER-WI...-/131252519881

It would require a 12 volt d.c. power supply to run the built in amplifier. The power goes through the cable so no extra wiring needs to be ran to the antenna. There's a splitter box at the TV end of the cable that feeds the d.c. power into the cable to feed the built in amp and isolates it from the TV. They use very little power. A 12 v.d.c. wall wart can be used instead of a battery. Just gotta be careful of the polarity (+ and -) when ya hook it up!

Might be a few extra bucks but I'll bet that you'll find more channels than you can imagine. Much better than rabbit ears..
__________________
"Without Deviation from the Norm, Progress is not Possible".
*Frank Zappa*
"Two roads diverged in a wood, and Ió I took the one less traveled by, And that has made all the difference"
*Robert Frost*
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-26-2015, 10:09 AM
Txanne's Avatar
Txanne Female Txanne is offline
Grand Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 14,201
Default

My antenna is hanging in a tree--
I refuse to pay cable/dish prices.

Of course if the wind blows I have to retrieve it from the yard.

I paid for a good one and am happy with it--it's not very big and I can handle it.

I can mount it permantly but I'd have to get a ladder--I'd just soon be able to move it.
__________________
TROUBLE RIDES A FAST HORSE
CASUS BELLI
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-26-2015, 03:56 PM
Setanta Male Setanta is offline
Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 678
Default

if you get anything with rabbit ears you are lucky,

i set up a small attic type antenna on my roof, picks up about 15 channels at best. only 9 of them are reliable, 6 are frequently a low signal and more often than not are unavailable. the 9 reliable channels are usually on but in severe weather they go down, otherwise the signal ranges from weak to strong.

i have found that sometimes the broadcast goes down if the tower or relay tower is out, and the weather can impact the signal for days at a time.

this is just a metal antenna, no signal amplifier
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-26-2015, 04:52 PM
coaltrain's Avatar
coaltrain Male coaltrain is offline
Grand Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NW Penna
Posts: 1,722
Default

No OTA TV reception at all around here - doesn't matter how tall an antenna. Also just one sketchy radio station gets through.

Satellite TV and internet is it.
__________________
~Stan~
It is what it is
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-31-2015, 01:31 PM
EarthMama's Avatar
EarthMama EarthMama is offline
Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by connie189 View Post
Hi All,

Hubby has a dilemma...he is missing viewing his favorite channels which our rabbit ears are not pulling in (for the past several days).

It started with some snowy and windy weather last week. (Sometimes that temporarily messes up the signals). Since that only lasted 2 days with two channels now it's like spring outside, a couple more channels dropped.

Hubby even called the manufacturer's customer service, and he did (below, his words

"...TV and converter dropped 5 channels we usually get; we are unable to adjust the antenna to regain the missing channels.

I did several rescans without success; I also did a factory reset which did nothing."

The antenna is about two years old, if that. A more expensive model.

If anyone can help---he's seriously depressed about missing 60 minutes and keeps sighing...

Thanks!
I just bought a new set of rabbit ears after not having reception tv in our house for several years. They were $5 brand new from Amazon. Maybe it's time for a new pair of ears, Connie. Despite being cheap, these work great.

Edited to say: We get about 6 channels if I have the tv in my bedroom but only 1 channel if we have the tv in the living room. I bought the rabbit ears to just get one channel (it didn't matter which one cos I knew it would be one of the major "news in the morning, at supper time, and at night" type channels). I just wanted tv reception for the 10pm news, to be honest.
__________________
My alone feels so good -- I'll only have you if you're sweeter than my solitude.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-31-2015, 01:41 PM
EarthMama's Avatar
EarthMama EarthMama is offline
Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Txanne View Post
I refuse to pay cable/dish prices.
Me too, Annie. Husband's employer pays for our internet cos he works from home here. But the minute they require him to drive-in to work & stop paying the internet bill, our internet is gone. I would miss it but not enough to pay for it ourselves.

Cable tv bill, internet costs, cell phone bill... I don't have any of it. I won't pay the high price. Groceries & utilities are hard enough.
__________________
My alone feels so good -- I'll only have you if you're sweeter than my solitude.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-01-2015, 12:17 AM
connie189 Female connie189 is offline
Grand Master Pontificator
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,223
Default

EarthMama,

I try to be as cheap as possible, but hubby "works" on me...so we split our differences and got a $25.00 Mohu 30 antenna (refurbished) for $9.99 that looks like a sheet of paper from Walmart.

Last Fall we bought a refurbished GPS from them for tracking our trip to WI and it works fine.

Saved $$ there, too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -2. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 1996 to Present. Backwoods Home Magazine, Inc.