BHM's Homesteading & Self-Reliance Forum

Posting requires Registration and the use of Cookies-enabled browser

Old 10-13-2016, 10:13 AM

Default Running an upright freezer

Is it possible to run a 15 cubic foot upright freezer on a dedicated solar system? I have the freezer in an out-building and would like to set up a stand-alone solar system just for that freezer. Thank you
Old 10-14-2016, 10:23 AM
Grand Master Pontificator

Hi, Cramptor. Welcome to the forum!

Your question reminds me of Carrol Shelby, the designer of Ford's famous Shelby Cobra. The sign over his shop read "Speed Costs Money. How Fast Do You Want To Go?"

I'm not an expert on this technology. Others here are and will no doubt answer you in detail.

My take on wind & PV energy is that using it won't save the environment, nor will it save you money unless you're so far off grid that running new lines is cost prohibitive.

OTOH, it is the way to go to provide energy security. I use solar for my deep well pump and will use it for my boiler & circulating pump when I install a hydronic heating system. Our grid in rural Wi is not all that reliable ordinarily and I don't want to be left dry & cold when TSHTF.

I'm also considering it for the same reasons for a freezer and look forward to the others' answers to your question. The system may cost in the range of $2000 but would be worth it if it saves $1500 worth of freezer meat once or twice in 20 yrs.

Ron Castle at Sunshine Works is very friendly & helpful and will tell you exactly what you need for your location & application. http://www.sunshineworks.com/index.html
Old 10-16-2016, 10:10 AM
Super Moderator

Howdy and Welcome! It's possible but location is a factor. The battery should be in a temperature controlled environment so consider that also..
*Robert Frost*
Old 10-17-2016, 02:04 PM
Master Pontificator

Hello Cramptor